Questions? Call Orange County Speaker Repair
Shipping Your Speakers?
View Your Cart

0 items in your cart



Free Shipping on GLS Audio

All Customer Reviews for "8" JBL Speaker Repair Kit Foam Re-edge Parts for 116A, 117H, 4408, and many more."
Average Customer Review: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 31 Reviews
Write a customer review and share your thoughts with others.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Speaker Repair Foam Kit is Really Easy, 9-9-2013
By Victor Druziako


I bought the repair kit because I didn't want to spend a fortune on my daughter's 2001 Toyota Avalon. When it came in, I thought it would be a good lesson for her (she's 19) to do the work herself. She actually ran with it and did a great job. I took the speaker out and reinstalled it for her, but she did all the actual repair work without having a hint of car repair experience. It was as easy as could be, and my daughter now has bragging rights that she repaired her own car audio system.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 As good as new!, 8-16-2013
By Roger Edwards


I bought this kit because it was much less expensive than buying new speakers. My LX-44 speakers (purchased at Circuit City some 25 or so years ago) had a bad case of dry rot in the woofer syndrome. New speakers would have cost at least $152 (each!). I was able to follow the included instructions quite easily, and after curing between steps as directed I now have speakers that sound as good as new for a tenth of the cost. I did not need the included gaskets for my speakers, which is just as well since they did not fit. The foam pieces fit perfectly and work wonderfully. They were delivered very quickly after I placed the order. I will definitely consider Orange County Speaker for my future needs.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Saved Me money, 7-29-2013
By Steven Fluharty


Ok, I thought that when speakers "Dry Rot"' that the life of the speakers were over. Being skeptical over the idea to "repair" them, I am savvy enough to try it. After 24 hours, my JBL's are thunderous!!! I can not believe how easy this was to do and the results was well worth every penny. I have another pair of loudspeakers up in my attic, that I intend to do the same for them. I hate throwing anything away, especially speakers that can now be restored to their original sound. Orange County Speaker Company, you guys Rock!!!!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 JBL L46 refoam, 4-2-2013
By Josh


Kit was complete and foams work great! Speakers haven't sounded better as long as I have owned them. 2 tips: Make sure your old gaskets are reusable or ensure that the new gaskets don't need to be trimmed BEFORE installing the foam. I had to trim mine for the mounting screws after gluing which was not ideal, but was my fault. Have a clear, flat space to lay the speakers face down after gluing outer foam and gaskets to give good, even pressure around the whole perimeter of the speaker while the glue dries (recommended 24 hrs.)




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 JBL 4408 Re-edge, 1-27-2013
By Greg Good


Thought I'd blown my driver on one of these classic monitors and discovered that the edging was really the culprit. I ordered the kit and it arrived even quicker than I'd expected! The foam has the same aesthetics as the original JBL foam. The only thing i wasn't quite clear on was how to apply this to the back of the cone so that it would retain the original look. A rim of the old foam on the back side of the cone could not be removed without possibly damaging the cone, so I wasn't sure if the new foam would adhere correctly. On my particular driver there's a lot of the speaker frame in the way and it's kind of difficult to access the back of the cone. I did a test fit before applying the glue and saw that it would probably work. I glued everything up and carefully worked everything together. I made sure to let the glue dry the full 24 hours for each step and I had 100% success! The speakers now sound and look like they did originally!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Easy and Great Sound, 12-16-2012
By Peter Argese


Thank you so much. The shipping was fast and the product excellent. I refoamed my speakers with your rebuild kit. The instructions were very good so I am the proud owner of some classic JBL speakers that sound just great. I am thrilled with them. I highly recommend your company.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Saved big bucks, 2-19-2012
By Greg G.t


Would have cost over $150 to have repaired in a shop. Kit was easy and fast with great results. Absolutely recommended!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Saved my 4408A's, 2-5-2012
By Kevin D. Davis


Thanks for the Foam Re-edge Kit. It was relatively simple with a little patience to bring my 4408 A's back to life. I am sure that this also saved me a lot of money had I gone somewhere to have this done. Thanks Orange County Speaker!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Easy Repair for My JBL LX500's, 1-17-2012
By George Doty


I'm not what you would call a handy man around the house, but found repairing my speaker surrounds extremely easy. The kit included everything I needed except a screwdriver. I found the detailed instructions easy to follow and the other clients' comments helpful. I was able to reuse my original gaskets. This kit saved me from purchasing a new set of floor speakers and $1000.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Foam Re Edge Kit, 12-29-2011
By Craig Robberts


Great customer service and product, Saved at least 150.00 doing it myself. Take your time and its very easy.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 This repair kit works! , 10-25-2011
By Jack B


The mid range (6") speakers in my JBL 9xx were rattling because the foam had deteriorated over 15 years. I used Orange County's look up guidance, found my JBL 9xx speakers listed and ordered the repair kits and the sizes matched! If I had to do it all over, I would have ordered enough repair kits to replace both the mid ranges and the wolfers. After I started repairing the mid range ones, the original wolfer foam was falling apart too. The wolfers weren't rattling yet, but it would likely be just a matter of time so, I ordered the 8" wolfer size too to get it done right the first time. It really wasn't too complicated. If you take the time to read and follow the directions very carefully, it can be really simple. The hardest part for me was after I unscrewed the steel speaker frame from the wooden speaker enclosure, I had difficulty detaching the wires from the steel frame. I suggest you use some pliers and take your time. Don't bend the part that the wire bracket attaches to, but, if your speakers have been attached for 15 years like mine have, it may take some effort to slip the wire attachment off (gloves may help protect your hands ... I didn't use gloves and I banged up my finger on the speaker enclosure ... nothing that a band-aid and 7 days of healing wouldn't cure, of course.) You may want to try leaving the speaker units inside the enclosure ... it may work ... but, I wanted to completely remove the speaker units from the speaker enclosure box so I could easily work on them (removing the old foam & make sure the glue was spread out and plentiful for adhesion.) Make sure you follow the directions and wait the 24 hours for the glue to cure (you'll need to do this over a period of 2 days.) The time of the actual repair isn't a lot, but to do it right, the glue needs to cure properly each time. And, I found that stacking about 20 to 30 magazines on each speaker frame after gluing helped the glue on the speaker cone stay in contact with the circular foam repair material (both when I glued the inside part of the foam to the speaker cone on day one and again when I glued the outside foam to the steel speaker frame and the hard ring that goes on top of the foam. I made sure I used a good amount of glue and spread it out so the foam would attach to the speaker cone and frame and ring ... after all, I expect this repair to last another 15 years. Time will only tell how good this repair will be ... it will be years before I know how durable and reliable the foam and glue will be. But, I can say that for about $80, my JBL 9xx speakers (that 15 years ago cost me $200+ each) both sound as good as new!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 You saved my speaker!, 7-25-2011
By Peter V.


This is a superior product that saved my JBL speaker (sounds great again). Very easy to fix. Directions are first rate. Plenty of step by step instructions, photos and lots of great advice. Highly recommend this product. Bravo, O.C.S.!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 8 inch JBL foam re-edge kit, 7-1-2011
By Robert


Orange County is the only place to list the the speakers this kit would fit. And it does. Kit was complete w/ easy instructions. However you might want to carefully remove the old gasket to reuse since the new generic gasket is a little wide in my opinion. No big deal.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 8 inch JBL Speaker Re-Edge Kit , 6-20-2011
By H.H. Deffner


Great customer service, fast shipping and well written/illustrated instructions. This was my first refoam job and, thanks to OCS, my L86s are back in service and better than ever! Great kit that is an exact fit.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 JBL H117 Refoam, 4-10-2011
By Roland


I purchased this kit and reformed my 8" H117 speakers from my 25 year old JBL L46 speakers. It worked out perfect. I just followed the included instructions using the provided foam rings, brush and glue. My speakers sound like they did when I bought them. If you have old speakers that have had foam ring rot, I highly recommend this repair kit. Roland




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 As easy as everyone says it is, 2-10-2011
By Greg Walker


Great Product. Very Easy. Very Happy!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 JBL Speaker Repair Foam Re-edge Kit, 12-29-2010
By Doug Wall


Also had on old JBL LX500. Received the kit within 2 days. Followed the simple instructions. Good as new now. Great product. Great Service.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 JBL LX500 woofer repair, 11-1-2010
By Dan


Almost trashed my 16 year old JBL LX500's. Looked for replacements to fit with no luck. After about one year of silence I finally found this repair kit, which for the price was a no brainer to try. Shipped from CA to FL in 2 days and two days after that I was back in business. I reused the old gaskets because the new ones looked like they would hinder the movement of the foam due to it being wider than the originals. VERY SATISFIED !




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Edge Kit for JBL L19, 7-29-2010
By Brack Leaberry


I was detressed over the foam woofer edging "rotting" out on these vintage JBL studio reference monitors. I thought, well, I got 30 years out of them...so, I went looking for replacements. Nothing had the range or "warmth" of these speakers...so I thought...how hard would it be to re-edge this woofer...as the rest of the speaker was still in perfect condition. I searched sites for re-edge kits...ORANGE COUNTY SPEAKER by far had the most detailed description. The price was certainly painless...the kit arrived here in Nashville in 2 business days...the instructions we easy to read...really liked the step by step pictures...the re-edging process was simple. The result...PERFECT SOUND AGAIN ! Thank you ORANGE COUNTY SPEAKER !




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great Company, 6-4-2010
By Bill Patton


I had a great experience with your company. Items were shipped very fast and arrived in excellent condition. I had never done a repair of this nature before, but the instructions were very clear and everything came out fine.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Perfect, 5-1-2010
By Garibaldi


Speaker components were perfect and on time. Very clear instructions. I will use OCS again. Highly recommended Co.!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 JBL Studio Monitor 4408 Repair, 4-29-2010
By Bob Baske


I was a little hesitant about attempting this kind of repair myself but it actually turned out to be quite easy. The instructions from Orange County Speaker were written very well and easy to understand. The repair kit itself was shippped in a timely manner. The kit contained top notch materials. Thanks Orange County for saving me some $$$.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Success for my old treasured friends, 4-26-2010
By David Richey


I loved my JBL LX44 speakers when I got them 20 years ago. I was sad when the woofers started to fail 15 years later, when the foam surrounds started to disintegrate. The speakers sat in a corner for the next 5 years, until I decided to research whether they could be repaired. When I found this foam re-edge kit, I really didn't know what to think -- could this really be the solution? Would it fit my speakers properly? Would I be clever enough to do the repairs myself? (I've always been a bit clumsy with things like this.) The repair kit is an exact match for my JBL speakers. I reviewed the instructions, testing the kit for about 30 minutes. When it seemed that I had figured out how to proceed, I got started. Next day, after the glue had dried, I was eager to test the results. Wow, the speakers now sound as good as they did 20 years ago. (Which is pretty good.) The only thing to be careful of is to center the cone properly -- make sure as you're gluing things that the cone moves very straight up and down. If it's off center, the cone will rub, and that's not good. I worked carefully, and I had no problem getting the cone centered.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 LX44 Success!, 3-11-2010
By John


Noticing that one of my channels was buzzing when I cranked up my circa-1989 LX44s, I took their grilles off to discover several cracks/holes in the edges of my old friends' woofers. Both JBL and National Speaker of Denver referred me to you, and I am grateful. The re-edge kit worked perfectly. The toughest part of the job is removing the old foam from the cone, as the foam is attached to the underside of the cone. You have to be careful doing this. I used a larger, flat microdriver for the stuff I couldn't remove with my fingernails. The edging fits perfectly to the casing and cone. (Note: As advised, I reused my old gaskets, but for kicks I sized up the new ones in the kit. It seems like they may be a little tight for the LX44's housing. I cut them to fit the diameter of the casing, but the actual width of the gasket may be too tight: It seems like the foam may actually hit the gasket if you're really pumping the speakers. I may be wrong, but they are twice as wide as the original gaskets.) My only criticism of the kit is that the brush's bristles came entirely out of the handle when I attempted to rinse the glue out after the first stage - but that's a minor detail. Awesome product. Thanks.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Danster63, 3-1-2010
By Dan Folmar


I snagged a pair of JBL LX500s as one of my neighbors was sending them to the recycling center. The foam on the woofers was trashed, but they were in great shape otherwise. After about an hours worth of work and a bit of drying time I now have a good-as-new pair of JBLs! Now, if I can only find a place to use 'em!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 My LX44 speakers are functional again. :o), 1-28-2010
By Gary T.


And they sound wonderful!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Foam Re-dege for JBL LX500, 1-12-2010
By Raj


Have a pair of mid-90's JBL LX500 that needed re-foaming. Saw this kit, ordered it, followed the instructions, and poof, they sound like new again. Glad I came across this kit online from OCS.




4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 problems re-foaming JBL LX500s, 12-31-2009
By Tim


I just re-foamed a pair of mid-1990s-vintage JBL LX500s. I found the website user friendly, the service efficient, price reasonable, and instructions reasonably clear. Unfortunately, no matter what I tried, the both cones were scratchy when I positioned the new foam rings. Finally I just gave up and glued them in, and, not surprisingly the sound quality is not very good. Overall I think it was worth a try to salvage my speakers, and I rate this product 4 stars




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Grat store to do business with!! A great find!!, 12-11-2009
By Steve Melusky


I have a pair of JBL-L119 2 way speakers where about 8 years ago my youngest son decided to play with the foam ring around the 8 inch speaker. Since then they have been sitting collecting dust. I figured I would do a search on speaker repair and low and behold I find Orange County speaker repair that has repair kits for me to do by myself. As an old musician and always having JBL speaker for now over 30 years (I have the studio monitors from 1980 and they still kick!!!) I decided to pruchase the foam repair kit and do it myself. I save alot of money doing it this way and want to say Thanks and will use them for future services.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Saved Big Money with this Kit!!, 10-6-2009
By Kenny


Didnt know alot about speakers, but thought this was worth a shot compared to 310.00 for the new woofer in my 2001 Toyota Avalon. Speaker sounds like new, best purchase made in a while. Easy repair, just follow instructions provided. Highly recommend.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 JBL re-edging kit works like a charm, 9-30-2009
By Charlie


At first I was worried getting into this project, fixing my over 30-year-old JBL Decade 16 speakers. I recently discovered that the original foam on the woofers had completely disintegrated. The re-edging kit from Orange County Speaker was a perfect fit, and much easier to use than I imagined. These vintage JBLs sound like new, better than some newer speakers available today that would cost 5 times as much as I paid for the JBLs in the early 70's!!




Back to 8" JBL Speaker Repair Kit Foam Re-edge Parts for 116A, 117H, 4408, and many more.

X

Contact Us!

Please enter your question below and we will reply within one business day. You may also contact us by phone at 1-800-897-8373 (Monday through Friday 9am to 5pm Pacific time).

Switch to Mobile