Questions? Call Orange County Speaker Repair
Shipping Your Speakers?
View Your Cart

0 items in your cart



All Customer Reviews for "12" Cerwin Vega Speaker Repair Kit Foam Re-edge Parts V12K"
Average Customer Review: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 43 Reviews
Write a customer review and share your thoughts with others.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Frat Party Speakers??, 10-8-2014
By John O'Brien


I saw my CV's referred to as such. I have run them next to some pretty stout systems and they may sound like frat speakers to the untrained, but the frequency response range is awesome. Repaired the 12" with these, and the low frequencies worked well. These are very sturdy foam, and clearly are built to last the remaining life of the speaker depending on heaviness of the use.

About the D7 by CV. Sounds great, with an excellent range, but a sub is in order. Below about 60hz they start to drop off.

Tested with "Trap" music.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great Product & Great Company, 8-25-2014
By Kevin Mueller


Product was shipped promptly. Instructions were clear and the new foam works very well.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Just like brand new, 3-24-2014
By Bob Gardner


Perfect replacement part. My Cerwin Vega speakers look and sound just like brand new. Just be patient installing the foam. There is no second chance with the included glue. Also, if you only install one of the 2 foam rings the glue will not store for very long once it's opened. Would be nicer if it were in 2 small bottles instead. Not a problem if you are doing both speakers at once.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Easy DIY, 3-4-2014
By James


Kit worked well. Replaced 26 yr old foam. Take care to center the coil and you're good to go. My speakers are good as new!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great materials, great instructions, 2-18-2014
By Tim Powers


The hardest part was scraping the old surround foam off the speaker frame and cone and that took just minutes. I was impressed with the quality of all the materials, the promptness of delivery, and the clarity of the instructions. I ran into no surprises, no snags, no hassles. My 20+ year old sub sounds great again. I would do it all over again with no hesitation. You can see photos of re-foaming job at http://public.fotki.com/partsbox/homework/sub-woofer-re-foam/




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 11-222-B-CV 12" Cerwin Vega Speaker Repair Foam Re-edge Kit , 12-23-2013
By Gregory Knowles


Buy this kit,it's easy and your speakers will thank you,. I had a very easy time with this kit and think I'll buy another kit for my other Cerwin Vega Speakers next month. thanks ORANGE COUNTY SPEAKER ,you guys ROCK!!!!...Gregory Knowles




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 After several years of not being used, I can now use my Cerwin Vega speakers!, 7-15-2013
By David Marshall


I stumbled across the Orange County Speaker site. For $30 plus shipping, the risk to try and repair my old speakers was small. The re-foaming worked out well. One of the speakers sounds great. The other speakerís woofer distorts as I turn the volume up. When I push in the woofer speaker on the distorting unit a bit it sounds like something is rubbing. However I canít find anything that is rubbing. The bottom line: for 30 dollars plus shipping, I am happy. I can use the speakers. Even using them with the volume down so the one speaker does not distort, my wife and daughter think they are too loud :-)




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Perfect As Always., 6-9-2013
By Thomas Levergood


Can't beat Orange County Speaker. My VS-120's turned out perfect. Once the speaker is prepped, attaching the new foam is easy. I never remove the dust caps on any of the Cerwins i've re-foamed. It's easy to center the voice coil, and I don't have to worry about getting any debris in the gap. Make sure you prep the speaker properly. Follow the included directions, and you'll have your speakers up and running in no time. Don't try to save a few bucks using cheaper foams. These folks sell the best foam and it fits properly. They also send the proper glue. Do it right now, and enjoy many many years of listening enjoyment!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Right on!, 5-6-2013
By Doug Williams


It was the right fit and looks perfect.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Now superb!, 4-18-2013
By Chris


These double layer surrounds are the best and have been the best for CV replacement... and now with the new adhesive that was sent, they're now 100% superb!! The stuff works vastly better than the water based glues and makes the installation of these rigid surrounds much easier!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 CV Refoam Kit, 3-13-2013
By D Buckner


Everything came in the mail VERY fast! ALL the instructions you need to do the job came with it, At a VERY GOOD PRICE! nuff said? go with OCS! you can't go wrong!!!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 speaker foam, 11-11-2012
By don huges


i was in impress with the foam and the kit as a whole




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Just what I needed!, 10-9-2012
By Eric Weber


Everything arrived quickly and the product worked as advertised. I'm so glad I found this kit and was able to perform the refoaming job myself. My Cerwin-Vega AT-12 floor speakers are now good for another 20 years now! Thank you!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Quick shipping and solved my problem., 9-4-2012
By Todd Nunez


Got this in 1 day. Damn fast! Much rather install this kit than buy some horrible china speaker!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nice kit, 8-27-2012
By Jason Stone


Worked perfect.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 122w2's never sounded better, 8-21-2012
By Mike Garcia


My old 122w2's had been in my garage for years. I dug them out and the surrounds were gone. OC had what I needed, got the parts shipped to me in 1 day (very impressive since I'm in Texas and they are in California), and now my speakers sound better than ever.




4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Great product! But only sold in pairs?, 8-21-2012
By J Doering


I bought this kit to refoam the driver in a Cerwin Vega SW-12B passive subwoofer. I've re-foamed several sets of speakers over the years now with parts from OCS with excellent results and this project was no exception. My order was shipped right away, and even though it came from clear across the country, I had everything within a few days. The surround appears to be high quality, and the glue works fast and holds strong. The one issue I have; the Cerwin Vega SW-12B is a subwoofer with a single driver (not all that uncommon). I emailed to see if I could purchase just what I needed- a single surround. I was told they only sold in pairs. No big deal- they must be prepackaged or something so they can't split it up, right? Nope. Everything came loose (but safely) packed in a plastic bag inside the shipping box. So, now I have a spare that I hope not to need for many years to come... So, for that: minus 1 'star'.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Easier than I thought and it worked!, 5-3-2012
By Greg Schroeder


I must first admit that I was skeptical that this kit would work. I'm come on, repairing your own speaker? Well, I was pleasantly surprised at just how easy this was. The hardest part was cleaning all the old foam and glue off the speaker parts to install the new foam. The foam gluing was the easy part! I followed the instructions and voila - my speakers sound beautiful again! Don't fear this kit - you can do it!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 12" Cerwin Vega Speaker Repair Foam Re-edge Kit V12K, 4-3-2012
By John Good


Thirty plus years ago I made one of the best purchases ever, a brand new set of Cerwin Vega D5 Speakers. Those speakers have survived all these years until a year ago when the foam around the woofers gave out from dry rot or old age or both! Anyway I was really glad to find out about the re-foaming kits except for one thing, there are all kinds of companies selling them. After a lot of research I chose Orange County Speaker and I am glad I did. The Repair Foam Re-edge Kit showed up in 3 days, the kit was everything they promised it to be and work began that day. After the repair my speakers sound as great as they did the day I brought them home and I couldn't be happier with the outcome. I recommend Orange County Speaker to everyone!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 12" Cerwin Vega repair kit, 3-18-2012
By Ronald Young


I watched a tutorial on youtube and the guy that filmed it used Orange County products. I decided to to do the same. I received everything just like they said I would and 48 hours later I was listening to my speakers and they sounded just like new. I intend to send my speakers in next time for the full rebuild next time I need repair. Thank You Orange County Speaker




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 very satisfied, 3-18-2012
By Mark


An easy fix for my 22 year old cerwin vega AT-12 speakers. They look like new and sound great. Would definitely use your company again.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 What a difference!, 3-11-2012
By Milly Bossert


I have a set of Hed speakers my husband and I purchased back in the early 80's. After obviously years of use, and multiple moves from the west coast to the east coast back to the west with humidity changes etc... the speakers finally sounded really bad with buzzing and vibrating. I removed the front panel to find exactly what was shown on the Youtube video, cracked and brittle foam and in places, no foam at all. Since I am a "fix it yourself kind of person", I searched the internet how to replace or repair the foam and found the Youtube video by Orange County Speaker. It seemed easy enough after watching the video multiple times. I contacted Orange County Speaker repair to determine what size foam kit I would need and placed my order. I received the kit within 2 days and immediately went to work. What a great kit! It included all the components I needed to restore my Hed speakers to the quality I had known years ago. I saved myself a ton of money by doing the repairs myself and I didn't have to invest in an expensive sound system. I was back to quality sound within 24 hours. I have recommended the Speaker Repair Foam Re-edge Kit V12K to all my friends and they have all been fully impressed that little old me was able to do the job.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great Kit, 2-5-2012
By Greg Potts


To be totally honest, I did not know that speaker repair was possible until I watched a repair video on YouTube. The gentleman was using this kit and made it seem so simple, and by his recommendation, I order the kit from Orange County. After following the repair instructions, I was able to repair a pair of 22 year old Cervin Vega speakers. I did however cut around and peel back the dust cover and shemmed the speaker cone in order to keep it centered. After the glue had cured, I glued around the dust cover and layed it right back in place. After a day or so I installed them back in the cabinet and low and behold, they sounded and responded like new. If you decide to remove the dust cover as I did, just use a sharp blade and cut on an angle leaving about a quarter of an inch to act as a hingle for the cover. Pull it back and tape it. After you've finish everyting else, place your glue along the dust cover cutting path,remove the tape and let the dust cover fall back into place. Use your finger to make sure the seams are in place. After the glue dried, I brushed a little more around the entire edge of the dust cover just make sure. After that, it was smooth sailing. I wish I had known about this earlier, I would still have a lot of old speakers. I recommend this highly recommend this item. Just be patient and follow the directions carefully.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 SW-12B, 11-29-2011
By Jason Salafia


I own a 20+ year old Cerwin Vega down-firing passive 12" sub in which the foam gave out on. I have stored it now for over 10 years and recently decided to put it back in service. After re-foaming my D-9's with great success, I figured I might as well give this sub a shot. After 3 days of picking and glueing; this old favorite sounds as good, if not better than the day it was purchased. I am sincerely shocked as to how well re-foaming a speaker restores its sound. The entire fixture is stiffer and the appreciation you have after you complete your repair is priceless! I had the option of simply buying another 12" CV, but this route holds much greater value.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 12 inch Cerwin Vega Re-Foam Kit, 11-28-2011
By Joshua Vetter


The kit arrived very quickly and was an easy install. The speakers have been restored to their original responsiveness and sound like new again! I am very satisfied with the quality of this product and I will be doing business here again!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great Service!, 11-20-2011
By Dave


Cervin Vega 12" foam kit and was a perfect fit. Very easy install. Good price, very responsive customer service and the kit arrived unbelievably fast (to PA)! I highly recommend Orange County Speaker.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Outstanding!, 10-3-2011
By Robert Le Sage


I used the Repair Foam Kit on a pair of Cerwin Vega D7 Woofers and they sound like new. Excellent instructions came with the kit so the install went smooth. I placed my order late in the day and the product was shipped the next day and arrived two days later. One cannot beat the price when one considers the alternative is to replace the Woofer or trashing the whole thing. I certainly highly recommend both the Kit and Orange County Speaker.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great kits, 9-30-2011
By Michael Saul


I recently replaced the twelve inch woofer surrounds on a pair of Cerwin Vega! A-12 speakers. This is the fourth pair of old but excellent speakers I have brought back to life with repair kits supplied by Orange County Speaker. I am a satisfied customer. As I am always on the search for such "diamonds in the rough", I shall be a return customer as soon as possible.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 12 inch cerwin vega repair kit, 9-30-2011
By Sal Colangelo


Repair kit worked perfect, my speakers sound brand new.




4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Thumpin, 7-10-2011
By Jim


My cones were quite weak at the edge where the foam joins them (they were in a house fire and got very wet) so I had some difficulty getting a good glue bond at first but I've had 38 years experience in sound systems and worked it out. I did find that the glue chemically reacted with the foam causing the foam to wrinkle but I also worked that out. So I would have found it very difficult without experience. I am extremely happy to have my Cerwin Vegas back and sounding like new again.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 cerwin vega re-edge kit, 2-23-2011
By Harold Black


I am really happy with the kit, the web site, shipping. All went according to plan. Speakers are like new! Sound great. Thank you for everything.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 great cerwin vega kit!, 12-8-2010
By Lewis Moore


This product is the only way to go with your old vintage speakers.I wish I had pictures. My Cerwin Vegas are 30 years old lots of power 15 years ago the edging started going and i retired them to the closet. Everyone said throw them away and buy new, I'm glad I didn't listen. [thanks Orange County Speaker] you must follow direction to the letter and take your time! To do 2 speakers right will take 2 days on and off, a job worth doing is worth doing it right trust me.If you look closley where your old foam was there is very little glue you'll see. Everybody can not believe they turned out that way. Thx again to orange county speakers my babies live again!! Don't throw em away rebuild em they don't make em like that anymore!




4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Glue is tough to use, 11-19-2010
By John Kobzik


This is my second Cerwin Vega repair kit. I find the glue that comes in the kit to be very difficult to work with. Drying time is very, very fast and does not spread evenly regardless of how much is applied. The glue does not give much time to work the surround into place particularly on the speaker cone. The surrounds themselves are fine, the glue, not so great.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Like new speakers!, 8-2-2010
By Mike


I have both the D-5 and D-3 Cervin Vega Speakers from the early 80's and both pair needed new foam. My brother recommended rather then buying new speakers to just reform them. After buying the kit from OCS and following the simple instructions..I couldn't be happier. They sound great just like new speakers and to think that I even thought about throwing them out. I was very impressed with how easy it was to reform them and how quick they arrived at my front door. I would do it again in a heart beat! Hint. I used my dremal tool with a wire brush to clean off the old form and glue off of the speaker frame. My finger nail to clean the form off of the speaker cone carefully!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Subwoofer repair kit, 1-17-2010
By Maria Ferraro


Instructions were very clear. My first speaker repaired like a charm. The second one was a little touchy. It didn't want to stay glued. I gave it more a day later and waited another 24 hours. This time it worked fine. The results look as good as if done by a professional.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Easy Subwoofer Fix, 1-13-2010
By Ron Y


I purchased this kit to repair my old CV subwoofer. Easy, well documented procedure. Now the sub is performing like new. The glue is a bit hard to get off your hands so latex gloves will be a good choice for this job. Thanks Orange County Speaker!




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Fit's Like A Glove, 1-2-2010
By J.Devor


My sub-woofer is 25 years old and was in need of repair. The kit I received "Fit Like A Glove". It now, again, sounds as good as the day I bought it. I have purchased a few other re-foam kits for my Infinity's and they also worked out great. You can't go wrong with OCS.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 The perfect place!!!, 12-28-2009
By Beverly Shaffer


This site was very easy for me to find what I needed and also the information I needed to repair my speakers. Shipping was very fast which I received in 3 days during the holiday season. Will definately buy from again.... Thanks




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great, 12-15-2009
By B. Anderson


My family has had 2 cerwin vega speakers for over 30 years. They started sounding horribly distorted in the past few years. We were incredibly upset when we found out the foam had rotted away and would have to purchase a new set of speakers. Luckily, a quick search with Google turned me onto this repair kit. I was apprehensive when I ordered this but the low price compared to a new set of speakers was hard to ignore. I must say that after a rather simple installation, my speakers sound great. I couldn't be happier with the product. The box included 2 foam rings, an outer gasket and plenty of glue with a brush. The instructions were detailed and easy to follow. The shipping was estimated for 5-10 days but the package arrived in only 2 days. I was impressed all the way around. I would recommend people who buy this to not use the brush to spread the glue, use popsicle sticks instead. The brush is worthless after 2 minutes of use.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great Store, 11-23-2009
By Bryan Cantrell


Easy to find what I needed, had what I needed, didn't charge me an arm & a leg, got it to me fast (without "expedited shipping"). I don't do a lot of speaker work, but OCS is definitely in my favorites and will get my referrals.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Good Stuff, 10-18-2009
By Ralph Decker


Just as advertised - High quality parts with easy to follow instructions. I'm a klutz when it comes to mechanical type things and I had no problems fixing my speakers.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 My experience with Orange County Speaker, Inc., 9-1-2009
By Paul Tynan


I was ready to have both my Cerwin Vegas reconed before I discovered that I could replace the worn edges myself. The kit came with all the necessary items, and the instructions were easy to follow. From start to finish, I had my speakers reinstalled and sounding great again in about two days. My experience with OCS was very satisfying, and I highly recommend them.




5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 pleasantly surprised , 9-1-2009
By Prof. Rappaport


When pulled off the speaker grills and I saw the way my woofers had completely degraded -- with bits of old hardened foam crumbling across the floor -- I understood why they sounded so bad. But I also figured they were now dead, and destined for the dump. Then I came upon the Orange County Speaker site offering the foam re-edging kit. I was a bit dubious, both with the concept of repairing sensitive audio equipment and my own handy-but-inexperienced ability to make the repair myself. The product description and low price convinced me to take a flyer, and order the kit. It arrived so fast that I hardly had time to scrape off the old foam and clean the surfaces in anticipation. The repair was indeed straightforward and easy, though a bit delicate. It needed multiple days to allow the adhesive to cure on one surface before attaching the foam to the other, but worked out fine. The woofers have been reinstalled and the speakers sound like new. I suppose I saved about 90% compared to buying a new pair of woofers. The only suggested improvement is that a second (or even third) glue brush be included with the order, as the single one supplied was uncleanable, hardened, and became unusable after the first application.




Back to 12" Cerwin Vega Speaker Repair Kit Foam Re-edge Parts V12K

X

Contact Us!

Please enter your question below and we will reply within one business day. You may also contact us by phone at 1-800-897-8373 (Monday through Friday 9am to 5pm Pacific time).